Search

Acadia NP in October

Search this Thread

Old Mar 25th, 2024, 07:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acadia NP in October

Hello,
I'm thinking of taking a 4-5 day trip to Acadia National Park in October. I've never been to the East coast so I'm a total newbie. We would be traveling from Chicago. How is Acadia in October? Is the fall foliage pretty? Where is the best area to stay? Is this a good time to head to Acadia or should I rethink and head there in the summer months? My husband and I would love to do some hiking and see the beauty the national park and surrounding areas have to offer. Thank you!
Old Mar 29th, 2024, 04:06 AM
J62

For fall foliage there are places that far better than Acadia - the rolling hills and mountains of NH, VT, western MA, and northern NY for example. The 1st two weeks of October are usually ideal. Anything later than mid Oct and the early brilliant colors will be gone - sometimes one big rain /wind storm can knock a lot of leaves off overnight.

In my opinion, the hiking and beauty of Acadia are neither unique, nor worth the extra several hours drive to get there, let alone the crowds. If coastal New England is what you want to experience there are nice little harbor towns much further south in Maine - Camden/Boothbay Harbor, etc where you can experience the charm, eat lobster or oysters or mussels to your heart's content. Others love Acadia - but not me.

There are several VT & NH, and overall New England experts who frequently post here on Fodors US forum who hopefully will chime in with their thoughts.
Old Mar 29th, 2024, 05:02 AM
Original Poster

Thank you! This is extremely helpful!
Old Mar 30th, 2024, 01:11 AM