Search this Thread

Old Apr 22nd, 2024, 02:17 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Japan travel planning questions

Hi all
planning a trip for Mar/Apr 2025 - and have a few basic questions
- we will be 68 and 65 at time of travel
- we did travel to china and hong kong pre-covid - using BA miles went thru heathrow with a UK layovers and sitting in coach for 2 9 hour flights was a not something i want to do again.
- we want to fly direct this time from newark NJ
we are thinking of flying United but wondering if any has any airline comments - is it worth it to pay for united premium plus (premium economy) its about $3200 pp vs economy which is about $2000 pp.
- we were thinking of tokyo - Osaka - Kyoto - traveling by train but am open to any suggestions - i am just getting started so haven't read the forum threads yet.
- would the above 3 cities say 3 or 4 nights in each be too much? too little?
thanks in advance for any comments.
Old Apr 23rd, 2024, 06:15 AM

Hello!

-Going in March / April? Maybe hoping to see the cherry blossoms? So is everyone else, so be prepared for the crowds. You aren't the only one with that bucket list item!

-United international is as unexceptional as United domestic. Either go with the upgrade, or better still, get on a code-share flight operated by their partner ANA (All Nippon Airways, a Japanese flag carrier which has vastly superior service)

A route of Tokyo - Osaka - Kyoto would be like a Japanese person visiting the US for their first time and going only to NYC - Philly - DC and imagining they will get a good sense of what the US is all about from just those 3 spots, without ever seeing the Grand Canyon, or wandering through Bourbon Street, or gazing at redwood forests, or eating some lobster bisque in Bar Harbor, or watching a rodeo in Big Sky Montana, or learning how to two-step at a country-western dive bar in Nashville.